All About the Ministry of Earth Sciences

The Ministry of Earth Sciences was formed on 29 January 2006 from a merger of the India Meteorological Department (IMD),[the National Centre for Medium-Range Weather Forecasting (NCMRWF), the Indian Institute of Tropical Meteorology (IITM), Pune, and Earth Risk Evaluation Centre (EREC), and the Ministry of Ocean Development.,

Apr 6, 2021 - 16:45
All About the Ministry of Earth Sciences

The Department of Ocean Development (DOD) was created in July 1981 as a part of the Cabinet Secretariat directly under the charge of the Prime Minister and came into existence as a separate Department in March 1982.  The Erstwhile DoD functioned as a nodal Ministry for organizing, coordinating and promoting ocean development activities in the country.  In February 2006, the Government notified the Department of the Ministry of Ocean Development.

The Government of India further reorganized the Ministry of Ocean Development and the new Ministry of Earth Sciences (MoES) came into being vide Presidential Notification dated the 12th July 2006 bringing under its administrative control India Meteorological Department (IMD), Indian Institute of Tropical Meteorology (IITM) and National Centre for Medium-Range Weather Forecasting (NCMRWF).   The Government also approved the setting up of the Earth Commission on the pattern of Space Commission and Atomic Energy Commission.

Vision 2030


To excel as a knowledge and technology enterprise in the earth system science realm towards the socio-economic benefit of the society.


To provide services for weather, climate, ocean and coastal state, hydrology, seismology, and natural hazards; to explore and harness marine living and non-living resources in a sustainable way and to explore the three poles (the Arctic, Antarctic and Himalayas).


  1. The augment and sustain long term observations of the atmosphere, ocean, cryosphere and solid earth to record the vital signs of the Earth System and changes.
  2. To develop forecasting capability of atmosphere and oceanic phenomena through dynamical models and assimilation techniques and to
    build prediction system for weather climate and hazards.
  3. To understand the interaction between components of Earth Systems and human systems at various spatial and temporal scales.
  4. Exploration of polar and high seas regions for the discovery of new phenomenon and resources.
  5. To translate knowledge and insight themes gained into services for societal, environmental and economic.

All institutions under ESSO are connected through National Knowledge Network (NKN) and its Common User Group (CUG). and Adithya HPC located at IITM, Pune is one of the largest computation facility in India. The Ministry's mandate is to look after Atmospheric Sciences, Ocean Science & Technology and Seismology in an integrated manner.

In 1981; the Government of India created a Department of Ocean Development (DoD) as a part of the Cabinet Secretariat, which was kept directly under the charge of the Prime Minister of India. In 1982 it became a separate department and it started carrying out its activities in the field of ocean development. In 2006; it was made a separate Ministry called the Ministry of Ocean development. In July 2006 itself, the Ministry was again reorganised and the new Ministry of Earth Sciences came into being with various institutions under its ambit. The Government via a resolution in 2006 brought Indian Metrological Department, the Indian Institute of Tropical Meteorology and the National Centre for medium-range weather forecasting and research (NCMRWF) into its administrative control. The resolution also set up an Earth commission just like the Atomic energy commission and Space commission. Currently, the ministry is headed by Dr Harsh Vardhan.

Institutions under the Earth System Science Organisation

  1. National Centre for Coastal Research (NCCR)
  2. Indian Institute of Tropical Meteorology (IITM) PUNE, MAHARASHTRA
  3. India Meteorological Department (IMD) NEW DELHI
  4. National Centre for Seismology (NCS) NEW DELHI
  5. Indian National Centre for Ocean Information Services (INCOIS) HYDERABAD, TELANGANA
  6. National Centre for Medium Range Weather Forecasting (NCMRWF) NOIDA, UTTAR PRADESH
  7. National Centre for Antarctic and Ocean Research (NCAOR) Goa
  8. National Institute of Ocean Technology (NIOT) CHENNAI,TAMILNADU
  9. Earthquake Risk Evaluation Centre (EREC) (under the Atmospheric Sciences and Seismology sector)
  10. Indian Tsunami Early Warning Centre (ITEWC) Hyderabad, Telangana
  11. Centre for Marine Living Resources & Ecology (CMLRE) Kochi (under the Ocean Science & Technology sector)
  12. National Center for Earth System Sciences (NCESS), Thiruvananthapuram, Kerala

What's Your Reaction?