List of State Regulations under RERA - Real Estate Regulation Authority

Sep 16, 2021 - 07:08
Sep 16, 2021 - 07:21
List of State Regulations under RERA - Real Estate Regulation Authority
List of State Regulations under RERA

Section 84 of the Act provides that within six months of the Act being enforced, each State Government shall make rules for carrying out the provisions of the Act.

Also Read:-

Offences, Penalties and Adjudication - RERA

Every thing About Real Estate (Regulation and Development) Act, 2016 AKA - RERA

Punishment for Non-Registration - RERA

Punishment for non-compliance of orders, decisions or directions under RERA - India

List of State Regulations under RERA - Real Estate Regulation Authority

The said Rules are to be notified by the State Government. As late as 31 October 2016, Central Government, released the Real Estate (Regulation and Development) (General) Rules, 2016, vide Notification by the Ministry of Housing & Urban Poverty Alleviation (HUPA).

The Rules so issued by the Central Government are applicable to the five Union Territories without Legislature viz., Andaman & Nicobar Islands, Dadra & Nagar Haveli, Daman & Diu, Lakshadweep, and Chandigarh.

The Rules have been issued after the prior release of Draft for comments. As of 13 July 2019, Arunachal Pradesh, Meghalaya, Sikkim and Nagaland have not been notified of the Rules. In the case of five northeastern states, the RERA Act is facing certain constitutional challenges as the land in those states are community-owned.

West Bengal notified a similar law called the West Bengal Housing Industry Regulatory Act, 2017, which came into effect on 1 June 2018.

However, as of July 2019, many states have not implemented the law and failed to notify a Permanent Regulator, Appellate Authority or a website.

A chart showing the implementation status by different states as of July 2019 can be seen here.

Rera Act 2016 - Implementation Report (As of 13.07.2019)
S.No. State/UT General Rules Date of notification Rera Website Link
1 Andaman and Nicobar Islands Notified 31-Oct-16
2 Andhra Pradesh Notified 28-Mar-17
3 Arunachal Pradesh Not Notified NA NA
4 Assam Notified 06-May-17
5 Bihar Notified 01-May-17
6 Chandigarh Notified 31-Oct-16
7 Chhattisgarh Notified 26-Apr-17
8 Dadra and Nagar Haveli Notified 31-Oct-16
9 Daman and Diu Notified 31-Oct-16
10 Delhi Notified 24-Nov-16
11 Goa Notified 24-Nov-17
12 Gujarat Notified 29-Oct-16
13 Haryana Notified 04-Oct-18
14 Himachal Pradesh Notified 28-Sep-17
15 Jammu and Kashmir Not Applicable NA NA
16 Jharkhand Notified 18-May-17
17 Karnataka Notified 10-Jul-17
18 Kerala Notified 18-Jun-18
19 Lakshadweep Notified 31-Oct-16
20 Madhya Pradesh Notified 22-Oct-16
21 Maharashtra Notified 19-Apr-17
22 Manipur Notified NA NA
23 Meghalaya Not Notified NA NA
24 Mizoram Notified 15-Mar-19
25 Nagaland Not Notified NA NA
26 Odisha Notified 25-Feb-17
27 Puducherry Notified 18-Jul-17
28 Punjab Notified 08-Jun-17
29 Rajasthan Notified 01-May-17
30 Sikkim Not Notified NA NA
31 Tamil Nadu Notified 22-Jun-17
32 Telangana Notified 04-Aug-17
33 Tripura Notified 27-Oct-17
34 Uttar Pradesh Notified 11-Oct-16
35 Uttarakhand Notified 28-Apr-17
36 West Bengal Not Notified NA

What's Your Reaction?