All about CAG and CAG'S

Sep 4, 2020 - 04:52
All about CAG  and CAG'S

CAG of India

Shri Girish Chandra Murmu

Shri Girish Chandra Murmu

Comptroller and Auditor General of India

Shri Girish Chandra Murmu assumed office as the Comptroller and Auditor General of India on 8th August 2020.

Prior to this, Shri Murmu was the first Lieutenant Governor of the Union Territory of Jammu and Kashmir. Before moving to Jammu and Kashmir, Shri Murmu served in various capacities in Government of India such as Secretary of the Department of Expenditure, Special and Additional Secretary in the Department of Financial Services and Department of Revenue, and Joint Secretary in the Department of Expenditure. Before his tenure at the Centre, Shri Murmu has served on important assignments in the State Government of Gujarat. He has wide experience in administrative, economic and infrastructure fields.

Shri Murmu is a postgraduate in Political Science from Utkal University. He holds an MBA degree from the University of Birmingham. He belongs to Indian Administrative Service of Gujarat cadre, 1985 batch.

Shri Murmu was born on 21st November 1959 in Mayurbhanj District of Odisha. He is married to Dr Smita Murmu. They have a daughter Ruchika Murmu and a son Ruhaan Murmu.

In his spare time, Shri Murmu likes to listen to Indian classical/Sufi music, do amateur photography and sketching/painting. He also follows his routine gym regimen.

List of Comptroller and Auditors General of India

No. Comptroller and Auditor General of India Year tenure began Year tenure ended
1 V. Narahari Rao 1948 1954
2 A. K. Chanda 1954 1960
3 A. K. Roy 1960 1966
4 S. Ranganathan 1966 1972
5 A. Bakshi 1972 1978
6 Gian Prakash 1978 1984
7 T. N. Chaturvedi 1984 1990
8 C. G. Somiah 1990 1996
9 V. K. Shunglu 1996 2002
10 V. N. Kaul 2002 2008
11 Vinod Rai 2008 2013
12 Shashi Kant Sharma 2013 2017
13 Rajiv Mehrishi 2017 2020
14 G. C. Murmu 2020 Incumbent

What's Your Reaction?








SANGEE my life is god